Scenario 2. Island – Part 2.

Through the all work of island modeling and sketches, I made my island.

Using the plasticine modeling, I made 18 contours. To made 18 contours, I had to pour water 18 times. Each lines are divided 3mm height. I marked each line and take pictures. At first, it was difficult understand how to make at least 15 contours but after I started making line, I enjoyed it a lot. I could concentrate making it.

Also, It helped me to understand principle of contours.

IMG_4812 IMG_4815 IMG_4816 IMG_4817 IMG_4818 IMG_4794

From this work, I got 18 contours.

After that, I had to create a measured hand drawn contour plan of my island and strategise my line weights and styles to show every fifth contour a stronger line weight. Also, differentiate the outline of the coast from the contours.

등고선스케치

My island has a steep, so it was hard to distinguish each line exactly. However, this drawing help me to make next modeling much easier.

model-1 model-2 model-3

It was really hard!! Actually, I tried to make this modeling using more thick cardboard, but I failed. I found more thin cardboard then I did modeling again. It was so painful and hard to cut neat especially curve section.

After I finished this modeling, I was so happy than other modeling.

I did my best to make tidy island:)

Next step is construct a model made of identical units such as wood, cardboard, card or styrofoam Or a wire armature model. The wire armature model is to be more emotional and intuitive.

I drew some of idea sketches.

island-model-idea3 island-model-idea1 island-model-idea2

Through the sketching and thinking, I chose identical unit model using cube sugar.

IMG_5533 IMG_5535 IMG_5522 IMG_5523 IMG_5531 IMG_5532

It was the most difficult modeling during all modeling works. The most difficult thing is finding right amount of glue. I tried the experiment to find it. During the experiment, I crashed lots of cube sugars. In addition, if I want to stack second floor, I had to wait until the first floor is dried perfectly. Moreover, my palms are soaked in sweat so many of cube sugars were getting weak.

However, finally I found right amount of glue, so I could finish this modeling. Even though it was difficult to make, I could enjoy the most!

Leave a Reply

